

Local Governing Body – Billingshurst Primary Academy

In accordance with the Trust's Scheme of Delegation, the local Governing Body of Billingshurst Primary Academy will be constituted of up to 12 Governors:

Name of Governor	Date of appointment or reappointment (See notes)	Term of office expires	Appointment method (See notes)
Nicola Waters (Chair of Governors)	07/07/2025*	06/07/2029	Appointed by LGB
Annette Calver (Vice Chair of Governors)	01/06/2024~	31/05/2028	Appointed by Trustees
Marion Ley	15/04/2024*	-	Headteacher (<i>ex officio</i>) (Employee of Sussex Learning Trust) #
Philip Bellas	19/03/2025	18/03/2029	Appointed by LGB
Emily Cogram	04/02/2025	03/02/2029	Elected by staff (Employee of Sussex Learning Trust) #
Melissa Galea-Holmes	21/11/2022*	20/11/2026	Elected by parents/carers +
David Lowe	23/09/2022*	22/09/2026	Appointed by LGB
Yvette Rowe	26/09/2022*	25/09/2026	Appointed by LGB
Richard Runalls	04/02/2022*	03/02/2026	Elected by parents/carers +
Sue Samson	01/06/2024~	31/05/2028	Appointed by Trustees
Vacancy			
Vacancy			

Notes:

The Board of Trustees of Sussex Learning Trust convened a local governing body for Billingshurst Primary Academy to take immediate effect upon Billingshurst Primary Academy joining Sussex Learning Trust on 1 June 2024. The Board of Trustees of Sussex Learning Trust further approved the reappointment of those governors of Billingshurst Primary School that were in office as at 31 May 2024 as the initial governors to sit on the Billingshurst Primary Academy local governing body (LGB) and accept the following appointments:

Formerly elected by staff pre conversion and appointment acknowledged by Board of Trustees and LGB



- + Formerly elected by parents pre conversion and appointment acknowledged acknowledged by Board of Trustees and LGB
- ~ Reappointed with new term of office as a Trustee-appointed Governor following joining Sussex Learning Trust
- * Reappointed as a Governor on Billingshurst Primary Academy joining Sussex Learning Trust
- ** Reappointed as Governor following reapplication on expiry of initial term

Governors have declared the following interests

Marion Ley	Employed by Sussex Learning Trust
Emily Cogram	 Employed by Sussex Learning Trust
David Lowe	 Governor with daughter employed by Sussex Learning Trust
Nicola Waters	 Chair of Governors at The Weald Chair of Governors at Bersted Green Primary School.
Sue Samson	 Member of the Interim Executive Board for the Downland Village Schools Federation
Philip Bellas	Governor at Loxwood Primary School

Governors have declared the following relationships with members of the Sussex Learning Trust academies community

Richard Runalls	 Governor with a child at Billingshurst Primary Academy
Melissa Galea-Holmes	 Governor with a child at Billingshurst Primary Academy
Annette Calver	 Governor with grandchildren at Billingshurst Primary Academy



Attendance at LGB meetings

The LGB came into effect on 1 June 2024 and the following table records attendance at meetings since that date.

Name of Governor	2023/24	2024/25
Nicola Waters (Chair of Governors)	2/2	6/7
Annette Calver (Vice Chair of Governors)	2/2	6/7
Marion Ley	1/2	7/7
Philip Bellas	Not in post	2/3
Emily Cogram	Not in post	3/3
Christopher Evans	1/2	6/7
Melissa Galea-Holmes	2/2	7/7
David Lowe	2/2	7/7
Yvette Rowe	2/2	7/7
Richard Runalls	2/2	7/7
Sue Samson	2/2	7/7
Tom Hampson	2/2	2/3
Ross Kelland	1/2	2/3
Kathryn Kulka	1/2	2/3

*** The record shows the number of meetings attended/number of meetings that a governor was eligible to attend



Former Governors previously in office in 2022/23, 2023/24, 2024/2025 academic years

Former Governors Former Governors of Billingshurst Primary Academy LGB	Date of appointment	Date of stepping down or expiry of term
Christopher Evans	20/09/2023*	2/7/2025 (Resigned)
Ross Kelland	03/02/2022*	20/12/2024 (Resigned)
Tom Hampson	30/06/2023*	20/12/2024 (Resigned)
Kathryn Kulka	09/12/2020*	08/12/2024 (Term of office expired)
Former Governors of Billingshurst Primary School	Date of appointment	Date of stepping down or expiry of term
Brian Ball	01/09/2023	14/04/2024 (Term of office expired)
Christopher Harding- Edgar	03/02/2022	14/04/2024 (Resigned)
Abi Smith	19/10/2022	15/12/2023 (Resigned)
David Clark	09/12/2019	22/11/2023 (Resigned)
Helen Williamson	01/09/2010	31/08/2023 (Resigned)
Rebecca Hatrick	09/11/2021	24/05/2023 (Resigned)



Payal Bagchi	14/09/2022	17/04/2023 (Resigned)
Oliver Eames	05/11/2018	05/11/2022 (Term of office expired)